Butter waffles

>

Wednesday is baking day in my house and for tea we ate these!


Now, I’d have waffles anytime over pancakes… but I am always searching for the ultimate waffle recipe – at least since I bought my waffle maker last year during that massive snow fall… I want a light and buttery waffle, something crispy and melting at the same time. And today I’ve cracked it ; here it is: the ultimate waffle recipe!

Ingredients list:
4 eggs
Self-raising flour 250g (I used light brown flour)
Butter 125g (use English butter – with salt)
Whipping cream 400gr
Vanilla sugar 2 large spoonfuls
(I make my own vanilla sugar by putting a split vanilla bean into a jar full of caster sugar.)

In a large bowl, work the butter and sugar until fluffy and creamy.
Split your egg whites from their yolk. Then  add the yolks one by one to the mix. Use an electric whisk for that and add the cream and flour, bit by bit. It should be creamy not lumpy.
Clean your hand whisk to beat the egg whites to a stiff consistency, adding a pinch of salt to help start it. They must make peaks when you pull out the blades but don’t overdo it! Carefully fold the whites into the mix with a wooden spatula. You now have a gloriously plump batter, soft as a pillow.

Warm the waffle iron or the electric maker and drop a large spoonful of batter in the centre. Bake until crisp and brown. The rich smell went right up to the loft to entice hungry children…

I like serving these with a blackcurrant sauce or melted chocolate with butter and a few slices of banana. Their buttery flavour hardly needs anything though… The one in the picture has caramel sauce.


I credit this recipe to the booklet compiled by the mums of Lübeck school in Paris. Recipes tried and tasted over generations! A treasure-trove, I tell you!

3 responses to “Butter waffles

  1. J’adore les gauffres croustillantes…

  2. We made them yesterday again! Vive la neige!

  3. Pingback: Light buttermilk and vanilla waffles | travels around my kitchen

Leave a comment

