>A few of my favourite things…

>Cooking is the art of choosing the right ingredients.
I have some favorites that I rarely depart from and always enjoy cooking with.
 Here is my desert island list:

Spices: Sea salt (“fleur de sel” is the delicate top layer that dries in the sun and carries the most fragrance so it is a bit like cooking with the true essence of the sea…)
Sweet smoked paprika or Pimenton – brilliant for anything spanish!
Quatre-epices (a moroccan mix that warms up any dish…)
Cumin
Pink peppercorns- so pretty!
Cinnamon (good for its fragrance and speeding up your metabolism)

Herbs: Oregano, mint, thyme (again: the flower is best!)

Others: Olive oil, Goose fat (the best unsaturated fat ever), crème fraîche, buttermilk (can’t do without this : I put it in most of my baking instead of milk because of its tangy taste and digestability!).
Last but not least: lemons! I have the hot juice first thing every morning to help my clock ticking and uses it everywhere I can. I love its zest in cakes and stews and the juice is so nice in a jug of cold water – It makes it easier to drink my one and a half litre a day…

Leave a comment

