>Crispy apple tart my way

>

Summer calls for rough’n’ready recipes that produce speedily a dish you can pack away and go down to the beach or the river with ! So here is another family favourite: A crisp, caramelised apple tart as flat as a galette… Something light and juicy you can even eat with your fingers – then lick them afterwards!
It is so easy I am almost embarrassed to put it up but then I have been baking it for so long for my family that it kind of HAS to be included or I’d be cheating the remit of this blog.

Ingredients list:
Five large French golden
Butter 85g
Puff all-butter pastry 1 roll
Brown sugar 2 big Tbsp


Roll out the puff pastry into a buttered tin, peel and core the apples then slice them finely -(I use my mandolin, again!).
Dice the butter and scatter on top then liberally dust with sugar  and put in a warm oven  (160°) for no less than 45 minutes. The fruit must have time to soften and caramelise without drying out too much. It’s ready when it oozes the most enticing fragrance of cooked apples and butter pastry and the edges are brown… Serve with a bowl of ice-cream or just on its own.

I was brought up in a large orchard in the South of France and this recipe to me concentrate all the most appetising aromas of my kind of house, the magic of cooked apples and the truthfulness of real family cooking.

3 responses to “>Crispy apple tart my way

  1. >Yummy! I halved the recipe as I only had a dozen small apples. We three LOVED this!! I can see where the 2000 – 5 star ratings came from. Excellent as written!

  2. >Oh my gosh, this is delicious! I have never had such a delicious apple crisp! I will never search for another recipe! I fixed this for my large, picky family for Thanksgiving.

  3. >Crispy apple tart is one of my favorite dish! I really like it. Thanks for teh recipe.

Leave a comment

