My Gingerbread loaf

>My late paternal grandmother, a talented sculptor and a true eccentric, used to love this cake and I only ever baked it for her… But this week, I baked it in memory of her!

This is a very dark, moist and light gingerbread with a spicy and earthy fragrance. I love it with a bit of dark honey and a cup of Tchai latte.

Ingredients list:
Butter 200g
Brown sugar 200g
Treacle 2 or 3 tbsp (according to taste)
Self-raising flour 300g
Ginger 4 Tbsp
Cinnamon 3 Tbsp
Fresh crushed ginger 1 bite- if available
Eggs, 2 beaten
Buttermilk 300g
Bicarbonate of soda 2 tsp

In a small pan, warm the butter, sugar and treacle until all melts together. I like the strong liquorice taste of treacle so I put 3 generous tablespoonful into this cake but you can put less or more according to your own taste.

In a bowl, make a well with the flour then add the bicarbonate, the spices and melted syrup and the eggs in fine, just lightly whisked with a fork.

Add the buttermilk and mix well, turning and scraping at the sides. The buttermilk and baking soda make this a very light and airy batter but use whole milk if this is all you have. Pour into a lined cake tin and bake for 1 hour at 170℃. It will keep well in cling film and is best eaten the next day.

I was late for my Spanish conversation class last thursday and brought half the loaf with me to apologize to the group- Lesson number one: You should always bring cake when in trouble!

Leave a comment

