Goat cheese panacotta- Macrobiotic version

The Beach House goat cheese pannacotta/ My Macrobiotic and veggy version!

I made this for  lunch and used ingredients that are non-dairy and suitable for vegetarians. I am trying to keep to my summer diet of fresh vegetables and non animal food but at the same time, I am REALLY missing the cheeses… So this recipe includes a light, fresh goat cheese which is satisfying  enough and at the same time, keeping away from the cream and milk of the original version, is better for your digestive system. A fresh yet creamy, flavoured yet subtle, beautiful take on the classic pannacotta recipe.

Ingredients list: This makes 6 portions

  • Soya milk 300ml
  • Soy cream 300ml
  • Fresh soft goat cheese 250g
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 and 1/2 tsp of Agar Agar (flakes)
  Add the Agar (a veggy gelatine)to the cold milk bit by bit, making sure to leave no lumps. Mix well.
Simmer the milk and cream until too hot to touch but not boiling yet. Season.
Add the goat cheese and strain through a fine sieve, pushing the mixture in with a wooden spoon.
Now pour into the moulds – mini puddings pans do very well.
Leave to cool outside then put in the fridge for 1 or 2 hours.
Serve with a salad of mixed leaves and black grapes, dressed with olive oil and light balsamic vinegar. Plus slices of homemade soda bread on the side!

I am very influenced by the Macrobiotic way and books like “Macrobiotics for Dummies”, at the moment, are on my bedside table – so you will hear more about this new way of eating over the next few weeks, I promise you! And as I understand its workings better and will be able to adjust my recipes more often, I hope you will see the benefits as well and try it along with me…
Leave a comment

