Delicious chesnut and soda bread for autumn cheers!

Chesnut, in all its guises, is one of the treats I look forward to when the kids go back to school and the weather turns a bit chillier – and you know it is that time of year again and summer is over…

Chesnut Soda bread

This time, I have used chesnut flour to make my favourite soda loaf and I think you will LOVE – as we did here- its chewy, light and muffin-like bite… Because it has no gluten, chesnut flour is easily digestible and in this recipe I have replaced the traditionnal buttermilk with oat milk to make it suitable for vegans!

As I am continuing on my health trek and avoiding all animal products, this recipe came as a particular “coup de maitre” and I am exceedingly chuffed with the result. It is so yummy it is more of a cake than a bread and sooo vertuous it is hard not to love it. 

Ingredients list:

  • Wholemeal flour 150g
  • Chesnut flour 150g
  • Bicarbonate of soda 2 tsp
  • Pinch of salt
  • Olive oil 50ml
  • Oat milk (oatly) 250ml
The idea with a soda bread is to mix all the ingredients very lightly and NOT to knead at all. That makes it ideal for first-timers!
So mix the flours and soda in a big bowl. The bigger the better.
Add the salt and olive oil – it is a bit much I know but you’ll love the texture: open and light and nicely buttery without a hint of butter.
Throw the whole lot of milk in and mix well. Roll out onto a floured surface and add a bit of wholemeal flour if too sticky. Just pat to shape. No kneading required.
Cut a few marks on the top, like a cross or anything to help the raising.
Bake in a hot oven at 180〬 for about 25 min. It needs to have raised and to sound a bit hollow to the touch. Eat it warm or the same day with a bit of nut butter: I love it with hazelnut butter but it is delicious on its own as well or with olives as a starter , as in the photo.
Enjoy and let me know if you did when you next visit!
Nutrition notes:
Wholemeal flours and gluten-free flours such as chesnut are a good source of vitamins and fibres and they are suitable for a healthy diet for the whole family.  I try and discourage my children to eat white, highly refined flour and they are definitely won over when I can produce an alternative as tasty and indulgent as that! High 5!

children running on the wave-breaker

3 responses to “Delicious chesnut and soda bread for autumn cheers!

  1. Soda bread is one of my favorite bread making. What a great idea to use chestnut flour. Is it easy to find in London?

  2. To be honest, I bring mine back from France since I ‘v started using it two years ago and got totally addicted! I am sure you could find it in Wholefoods Kensington or my great little whole foods store in Hammersmith Kings street. They seem to have everything!

Leave a comment

