Virginia spoon bread

>Soufflés variationsI sometimes get impatient and forget the best IT advice I give my children: “Think before you click”- hence the French post that slipped through my fingers yesterday! I wanted to translate a very old recipe I have had in my books for as long as I remember and crack, I sent it out into the spider’s web before I had time to put it into shape. The silver lining of course, is that my French readers won’t have any trouble getting this one!

Ideally, and if time was never an issue, I would write this blog in both languages and ideally I would have readers who would be able and have the time on their hands to read both. But the time wasted by all on such an exercise is just not worth the trouble so there we are: For the time being this blog will remain in English.

The recipe I give you is in fact American and it is a lovely family dish : quick, tasty and always very popular with my brood.

Ingredients list:

  • Milk 450ml
  • Cornflour 75g
  • Butter 1 Tbsp
  • Grated cheddar 75g
  • Garlic clove 1
  • Eggs 3
  • salt and pepper

Preheat your oven to 180°.

Warm your milk into a pan. Dilute the cornflour in a little cold milk and mix it in. Get to a slow boil and cook for 10min until it thickens. Take off the hob and add the butter, cheese, garlic pressed and the 3 yolks– reserve the whites.

Whip up the whites into a bowl. Mix both preparations gently and by raising the mixtures on top of each other with a spoon to keep as much air as possible in them.

Transfer into a soufflé dish that you have previously smeared in butter and in which you have dusted a little flour. Let it bake for 45 minutes: It should have risen nicely by that time!

Serve hot with a green salad.

2 responses to “Virginia spoon bread

  1. Wait a minute, since when is this blog in French?!!??

    • Tout a fait raison! Erreur d’envoi avant traduction… Je rectifie bientot et en attendant, une pour les copines qui ont du mal à me lire en Anglais 🙂

Leave a comment

