Fig and goat cheese savoury tart

Moist and fragrant

Moist and fragrant

This savoury tart is a great way to use over-ripe figs or ones that have hardened a bit instead of softening with maturation- which happens quite often to me with imported figs. Make it quickly before the last figs disappear off the market stalls… Or fly over to where they grow! That is what I intend to do myself by the time your get this anyway so this purple tart is a parting gift.  I am still chasing the sun…

Ingredients list:

  • 10 figs
  • cream cheese, 125g
  • soft fresh goat cheese, 125g
  • balsamic vinegar, a generous drop
  • acacia honey, 1 Tbsp
  • pepper mill
  • Filo sheets or puff pastry

Prepare the filo sheets (or puff pastry) by brushing them with oil and laying them inside a removable-bottom flan or tart tin. I lay each corner of the filo slightly off the previous ones so they resemble a large flat flower. I would have used puff pastry for a richer tart but I did not have time to make any. Filo is a health-conscious option after all.

Mix the soft goat cheese and the cream cheese together in a bowl and sprinkle a little pepper.

Spread the mix over the filo sheets. Don’t try to cover all as it will melt anyway.

Wash the figs and cut them up in four without peeling them. Just top and tail them.

Sprinkle a thick balsamic vinegar over it all and put in a hot oven for about 20/30 min. The pastry needs to be golden and the figs nice and soft.

Serve at room temperature with a drizzle of acacia honey.

This is a savoury tart but it is so indulgent I would not mind it for starters AND pudding! Don’t know if I invented it or if it has been done before but don’t mind either way because it is a great combination anyhow… Figs, honey and goat cheese… Flavours that sing together in your mouth…

To use up the last figs...

Quick and easy to use up the last figs…

3 responses to “Fig and goat cheese savoury tart

  1. It was so lovely meeting you last week. It’s always fab to meet another food blogger and this dish looks incredible. I adore figs and goat cheese complements them so well. One day, I’d love to have a property large enough to have a fig tree. I will give this ago the next time I have a girlie lunch. I think they’ll love it. Hope you see you again soon. Till then happy cooking.

    • Thnks Bailee for your visit: this tart is a favorite here too but I will make your almond cookies very soon! Hope to see you again and till then happy blogging!

Leave a comment

